DWI Purpose. Results. Peace of Mind.

Angleton DWI Attorneys

Protecting Our Clients’ Rights & Interests

In Texas, an individual facing a DWI charge can face serious consequences, even if this would be the first offense. It’s important you enlist the help of an Angleton DWI attorney who can effectively defend your rights and interests throughout your court proceeding. You can rely on Bass & Tigner, P.C. to provide comprehensive and quality legal services.

To learn more about how we can help, call our office at (979) 316-7133 today.

What Is Considered Legally Intoxicated in Texas?

The legal intoxication limit can differ for a few types of people. For example, what is considered intoxicated for an adult over the legal drinking age is more than someone under the age of 21 who is found driving while intoxicated.

In Texas, the legal limit is:

  • .08 blood alcohol level or more for adults over the age of 21
  • Any traceable amount of alcohol in the system of a driver under the age of 21
  • .04 blood alcohol level or more for drivers of commercial vehicles

What Are the Drunk Driving Penalties in Texas?

The penalties for a drunk driver over the age of 21 can be:

  • Up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine not exceeding $2,000 for the first offense.
  • Up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine not exceeding $4,000 for the second offense within the first 5 years of the first offense. The offender’s driver’s license may also be suspended for 1 year.
  • Up to 10 years in prison and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000 for a third offense or greater within 5 years of any prior offenses. The offender’s driver’s license may also be suspended for 1 year.

If a person is found driving while intoxicated with a passenger younger than 15 in the vehicle, they could face 180 days to 2 years in prison and a fine not exceeding $10,000.

The penalties for a drunk driver under the age of 21 can be:

  • A fine not exceeding $500 and/or a requirement to perform 20 to 40 community service hours for a first offense. The offender’s driver’s license may also be suspended for up to 30 days.
  • A fine not exceeding $500 and/or a requirement to perform 40 to 60 community service hours for a second offense. The offender’s driver’s license may also be suspended for up to 60 days.
  • A fine between $500 and $2,000 and/or confinement in jail for up to 180 days for a third offense and more. The offender’s driver’s license may be suspended for up to 180 days.

The penalties for a drunk driver who operates a commercial vehicle are:

  • The same penalties mentioned above, depending on the driver’s age.
  • A disqualification from operating a commercial vehicle for up to 1 year.
  • If the driver was transporting hazardous material, they may be disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for 3 years.
  • If the driver commits a DWI more than once, they are likely to be disqualified from operating a commercial vehicle for the remainder of their life.

Count on Our Angleton DWI Attorneys

At Bass & Tigner, P.C., we provide all our clients with the legal services needed to obtain a favorable outcome to their case. Our lawyers care about our clients and will provide representation that fits their unique situation.

Call our office directly at (979) 316-7133 or complete our online form to schedule your consultation.

Why Hire Bass & Tigner, P.C.

Experienced & Dedicated Attorneys Advocating for You
  • Easily Accessible to Clients
  • Well Respected Among Peers & Judges
  • Efficient Problem Solvers
  • Trustworthy & Honest Advocacy